About Us


Our History

History of the Wee Kim Wee School of Communication and Information


WKWSCI celebrates its 25th Anniversary with a series of activities for students, alumni, faculty, industry partners and stakeholders


WKWSCI pays tribute to the late former President, Dr Wee Kim Wee with special portrait on his 100th birthday.


Professor Charles Thomas Salmon is appointed as the Chair of the School with effect from 8 September 2014.

According to the 2014 Quacquarelli Symonds (QS) World University Rankings, Wee Kim Wee School of Communication and Information is ranked first in Asia and sixth in the world in the category of media communication studies


Professor Charles Salmon is appointed as the Acting Chair of the School with effect from 1 September 2013.


The School celebrates its 20th Anniversary in May 2012 with a gala dinner at the Fairmont Hotel.


Wee Kim Wee’s book was released: “On the Record: The Journalistic Legacy of President Wee Kim Wee”. 


The School hosts the 60th Annual Conference of the International Communication Association, 22-26 June 2010.


The School receives three distinguished endowed professors:
Prof Ronald Rice – Nanyang Professor
Prof Geogette Wang – Wee Kim Wee Professor
Prof Vincent Mosco – Shaw Foundation Professor


Assoc Prof Benjamin Detenber is appointed as the next Chair of the School, effective
from 8 September 2008.


The School hosts the first World Journalism Education Congress in collaboration with the Asian Media Information and Communication Centre (AMIC) and the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC).


The School is officially named as the Wee Kim Wee School of Communication and Information. More than $27 million is raised for the Wee Kim Wee Legacy Fund.


The Nanyang Chronicle celebrates its 10th anniversary. NTU's President Su Guaning makes an official visit to the School.


The School establishes the Singapore Internet Research Centre. A fifth floor is added to the School as it expands its programmes.


Assoc Prof Ang Peng Hwa is appointed as the next Dean of the School.


The School is renamed as the School of Communication and Information.


The School expands to include a fifth division - the Division of Information Studies. A new curriculum introducing minors is implemented.


The school hosts the global IAMCR 2000 conference in Singapore for the International Association for Media and Communication Research. The conference is titled "Communication Beyond 2000: Technology, Industry and Citizens in the Age of Globalisation".


The school graduates its first PhD candidate, and a $1.5 million endowed professorship is established by the Shaw Foundation to focus on new technologies.


As part of its service to the media industry, the school graduates the first class of communication professionals enrolled in Master of Mass Communication degree programme.


The faculty celebrates the graduation of the first class of undergraduate students who completed the school's four-year honours degree curriculum.


The School moves into a new $22.6 million building at the western edge of NTU's Yunnan Garden Campus.

The gleaming, four-storey facility houses the latest in print, audio/video, photo and multimedia technology


The school enrolls its first PhD student; and a $4.5 million endowed professorship is established in honour of former journalist and Singapore's former president, Dr Wee Kim Wee


A campus newspaper, The Nanyang Chronicle, is launched. The campus newspaper provides students with hands-on journalism experience and to report on issues and events of importance to the NTU community.


The school enrolls its first class of 96 undergraduates and master's degree students.


NTU establishes a free-standing School of Communication Studies and appoints Prof Eddie C.Y. Kuo, then head of the Mass Communication department at National University of Singapore, as the founding dean.